
I am completely aware that I don't know everything. And I am a strong believer that people can't necessarily be blamed for their ignorance depending on the environment that they grew up in. Knowing that, I still can't help but get pissed off by how fucking stupid people are.
For example, a customer walks in with her friends today and sees a Malcolm X poster on the wall. "Oh my god why would they have a Malcolm X poster here?! thats rediculous" she said. Right away I start listening to her every word just because i'm sure it can only get better from there. They walk around for a bit and then come full circle back to the picture. "I just want to take this picture and destroy it"."Why don't you like him?" one of her friends said. "Hes a black guy that wanted to kill every single white person-like slaughter them all." I wonder if they could feel the anger beaming off of me. Here she is, telling her friends this garbage. But is it her fault? She only could have heard that from her parents or some other adult that obviously thought it was true. It was by no means my place to interrupt and tell her to go read a book and then throw it at her parents for teaching her such BS. But I wanted to.
Growing up where I have, around the people that I have, all I can say is that i'm 100% happy that I am not that sheltered from reality. And I also have to realize that I can't heal the world from their ignorance. The best I can do, is teach the children I know, my cousins, whoever looks up to me- to know better. God help the rest. lol.
If you dont know, do your research before you speak:
Official Web Site of Malcolm X
http://www.cmgww.com/historic/malcolm/

No comments:
Post a Comment